May 21 News #2
I think you all know this, but it commonly occurs, so ..... just in case
In stroke play - when a ball played from the putting green hits another ball on the putting green
the person making the stroke incurs a penalty of two strokes. Replace the ball that was hit to its
original location. The ball striking the ball at rest must be played from where it came to rest.
Moral of the story - don't be shy, ask your fellow competitors to mark their ball even if there is no chance what-so-ever
you might hit their ball.
AND - if you are asked to mark your ball, be gracious, no matter how ridiculous you think
the request is (no chance in xxxx your fellow competitor is going to his your ball laying 20' beyond the hole).
AND - remember, there is no penalty when a ball played from off the putting green (chipping perhaps😊) moves another ball
In match play - no penalty is incurred; same drill, replace ball that was at rest to its original location
and play the ball striking the ball at rest where it came to rest.
AND - remember, there is no penalty when a ball played from off the putting green (chipping perhaps😊) moves another ball
Darlene Lethin Patch - Rules Chair
darlene.patch@gmail.com
May 21 News #1
Player A’s ball is on the putting green.
Player A marks the location of the ball with an acorn that was picked up from the putting green and lifts the ball.
Player B putts from the putting green and the ball in motion accidentally hits the acorn.
**The acorn is a loose impediment and not a ball-marker. See the Definitions of “Loose Impediment” and “Ball-Marker”.
Player B’s ball played from the putting green accidentally hit a loose impediment on the putting green.
Player B must play the ball as it lies. See Rule 11.1a.
Player A gets a penalty of one stroke for a breach of Rule 14.1a, picking up a ball in play without marking the ball with a ball-marker.
Moral of the story? The acorn doesn't fall far enough from the tree around the putting green :).
From your CCWGA Rules Chair
Darlene.patch@gmail.com
925-528-8018